nomadtribe.blogg.se

6 core mac pro vs 8 core
6 core mac pro vs 8 core








  1. #6 core mac pro vs 8 core for mac
  2. #6 core mac pro vs 8 core upgrade
  3. #6 core mac pro vs 8 core pro
  4. #6 core mac pro vs 8 core Offline

#6 core mac pro vs 8 core pro

I use a Mac Pro, 2012 MacBook Pro, 2017 MacBook Pro and a 2015 Mac mini, and the differences in speed are far, far smaller than any CPU speed would allude to.

#6 core mac pro vs 8 core Offline

see how it pans out? What happens if you select all your tracks in the session and duplicate them? How does the session run with a single CPU vs dual CPU? What happens if you double your sample rate?įrom my experience, offline bounce doesn't really vary all that much between Macs in general. Why not put your foot on the gas a little. Opening a session and hoping that the CPU usage is going to change in any great fashion is a little simplistic as a test. It seems that you are in the best position to judge CPU usage? You have the boards in front of you, and you know what you want to achieve. 1ghz difference is a big deal at all between X5690 and X5680) I wonder if there isn't as big of a difference, or potentially no difference, going from a 6-core setup to a 12-core setup while keeping the same clock speed? (I don't think the.

6 core mac pro vs 8 core

You all went from 8-core setups to 12-core setups, with increased clock speed. So this just doesn't make sense to me but could very well just be Pro Tools doesn't necessarily utilize the two CPUs much better than one.at least when we are talking about the X5690 and X5680. There is no noticeable real life change in my CPU usage % and offline bounces did not speed up. However, I cannot friggin believe that putting in TWO 3.33ghz 6-core CPUs and the same session is running at 40% CPU. So this is where I said my CPU use was cut in half basically. When switching to the 3.46ghz 6-core CPU the CPU % dropped to 40% it will never feel as snappy as even some of the most specification-light modern machines due to other limitations it has.Ĭan anyone talk about more details in regards to CPU usage % ?įor example, when I ran a particular session with a 2.66ghz 4-core CPU the CPU % may have been as high as 90% I have zero regrets upgrading my old Mac Pro to 12 core, but with that said. Transferring any files between SATA3 drives will be quicker though. but it doesn't increase the snappiness of the system in any hugely noticeable way. Something like the Samsung SM951 AHCI drives will achieve outstanding speed compared to anything running on the SATA2 busses. If you haven't looked into faster hard drives, I would definitely give that a peek into as well. When upgrading, also check and see if your ram is 1333MHz - most 4 and 8 core models shipped standard with 1066MHz ram, as it was all the CPU could take advantage of. Swapping out your CPUs for higher core number & higher base clock rate versions will definitely increase the size of the PT sessions you can run.

6 core mac pro vs 8 core

I am not sure it is that heavy on graphics. I would really be surprised if a GPU was restricting the speed of Pro Tools in some way. There is a limit to what these old beasts can do. SATA2 drives, compared to SATA3 or exponentially faster m.2 formats being used in new computers. 1333MHz ram - modern computers are now up to 3200Mhz for example. We are still talking about machines that are firmly rooted in 2010. There is a limit to what can actually be improved in these machines though. I noticed a considerable improvement too when going from 2x 2.4ghz 4 core processors to a pair of 6 core X5680s. Please let me know what your observations and experiences have been when running the same sessions with different CPU's

#6 core mac pro vs 8 core for mac

I didn't want to pay $500 ($400 for Mac Pro, $100 for two X5680s) to simply up my GeekBench score, which went from like 14,900 to 22,000 with a 6 core to 12 core as far as multi-core score goes.

6 core mac pro vs 8 core

My thoughts are if I am seeing the same real life performance in Pro Tools whether its a 6 core or 12 core system it is not worth the investment.

#6 core mac pro vs 8 core upgrade

Even offline bounces didn't seem to speed up.Ĭan anyone on here who has gone through similar upgrade steps comment on the real life difference they saw with Pro Tools in regards to using two CPUs? I am now considering selling my 2nd Mac Pro since the only reason I bought it was for the dual CPU tray and give me better performance in Pro Tools. However I am pretty disappointed I am seeing the same CPU usage percentages being reported in Pro Tools system use window. 1ghz lower) would result in another very noticeable improvement. So one would be lead to believe that putting in a dual CPU tray (even if the speed difference is.

6 core mac pro vs 8 core

Literally cut CPU usage in half at least. I saw a MAJOR improvement going from the stock CPU to the best CPU this machine can install. I am on a 2009 Mac Pro with 5,1 firmware and have gone from the following CPUs










6 core mac pro vs 8 core